What to Do After a Car Wreck
The First 10 in a Car Accident
Your Guide to the First 10 Minutes, 10 Hours, & 10 Days After an Accident
Walking away from a car accident safely is a wonderful thing, but forgetting to take photos or obtain witness information can make the aftermath difficult. So, what should you do after a car accident, and how soon do you need to start? Our Kansas City car accident lawyers have developed a list of things to do within the first 10 minutes, 10 hours, and 10 days of the collision.
First 10 Minutes
Immediately after an accident, it is important to stay calm. Assess yourself and your passengers, and call 9-1-1 immediately if someone is injured. If it is safe to do so, move the vehicle out of traffic, and turn on your hazard lights. If you haven’t already done so, call the police, and stay with the vehicle until they arrive.
Take pictures of all vehicles affected, the area where the collision occurred, and anything else that may be relevant when making a claim. Then, gather the following information from the parties involved:
- Phone number
- License plate
- Driver’s license number and state information
- Insurance information
After gathering this information, you should also collect the contact information of any witnesses, including their names, phone numbers, and addresses. Be polite to all those involved, and be honest and clear about fault. It is rather shameful that insurance companies publish things like “do not admit fault – that could be used against you later.” The simple truth is always best – especially if you’re going to be going through the justice system.
First 10 Hours
Within the first 10 hours of the accident, there are a number of things you should do. First, secure your vehicle, or immediately take it for repair estimates. Before leaving it for inspection, make sure to remove all valuables from the vehicle.
If you sustained an injury from the collision, even if it seems minor, visit a medical professional immediately. Many injuries from car accidents can get worse over time. Make sure to keep a copy of your medical documents, as you may need them later. You should also photograph any visible injuries you or your passengers sustained during the accident.
Within the first 10 hours, you should file an accident report as required by State Law, as well as collect the police report when it becomes available. At this time, contact your insurance agent and file a claim. Make sure to provide the setting details of the accident, including weather, time, location, and statements made by others involved.
Finally, if you are injured or are otherwise unable to work, inform your employer of the situation as soon as possible.
Within 10 Days, Contact Our Kansas City Car Accident Lawyers
If your vehicle was extensively damaged or totaled, you were injured, or you are being pressured into a quick settlement from another party, you need legal representation. We recommend contacting our legal professionals within 10 days. This way, you don’t have to worry about missing the time limit for filing a claim, nor do you risk forgetting any details of the accident. This also gives you the opportunity to talk with your lawyer prior to speaking to another driver’s insurance company.
Contact our Kansas City car accident attorneys today at (816) 844-6938 to discuss your case.At Sanders.Law, we know how to accurately and professionally represent you. Our attorneys take the time to learn the details of your car accident and build a strong strategy for your personal injury case. We are dedicated to getting you the justice you deserve, including your day in court. We hold reckless drivers accountable and responsible for the harm they inflict on others. Don’t suffer from your accident longer than you have to – contact our car accident lawyers now to discuss your claim.